top of page
  • SaiyansinTraining

Week 3: Settling In

With the challenge fast approaching Sam is quickly getting used to his new, cardio-heavy, training schedule. Starting to consider strategy, Sam takes us through his third week of training;


"Monday (Day 15): Changed things up with the swim today, trying to focus on swimming more with my arms than with my legs. Swam 700m (5 lengths) with a float between my legs straight into a short 40m without the float but with a quicker tempo. This was done 5 times through with a 90s break in between. I didn't change up the stroke type either, this time trying to focus on tightening up my front crawl. Overall was in the pool for 35mins. It felt surprisingly good and I'm hoping that giving my legs a rest in the pool will benefit me as I go into the bike and the run. Did a quick 15mins on the bike at home to test out how the hammy was feeling and it passed the test!!




(Left: Sam transforming from energetic to damn tired after pushing it on the bike)






Tuesday (Day 16): Same method with the swim and the exact same distance and length (700m in 35mins). A little disappointed I didn't shave any time off but there was an ease to the swim! Tuesday traditional 45min Spin class taught also - lots of fun!

Wednesday (Day 17): Swam an 800m total today, still alternating between nothing and the float between my legs, but I managed to smash it out in 35mins! Also had an easy spin on the bike for 45mins yet my legs are still feeling fresh!

Thursday (Day 18): Pushed the swim to 900m today with the same method, I'm keeping the time to myself.... Also smashed out another 45mins on the bike.

Friday/Saturday/Sunday (Day 19/20/21): Prior commitments this weekend allowed me a well-deserved rest weekend!"


Sam's finally adding some strategy into his training, getting to grips with the unique challenges of a triathlon (let alone 7). Ryan, jealous of the Sam's time in the limelight, takes us through his training for the week;


"I haven't started yet but it'll be fine."


We're not sure Ryan is right but he's promised to start training soon! If you would like to donate to the cause you can do so here, and if you'd like all the latest updates from the Saiyans in Training you can follow them on Instagram on @saiyans_in_training.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 1: Training Begins

Sam aims to get the jump on his brother when it comes to training and thus has begun his training early; with 4 weeks already under his belt. Ryan, with a chronic fear of cardio exercise, is adopting

bottom of page